Monday, 13 July 2015

President Buhari appoints new Service Chiefs

President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed a new National Security adviser (NSA) and  new Service ChiefsThe new appointments approved by the President include;
1. Major-General Abayomi Gabriel Olonishakin - Chief of Defence Staff;
2. Major-General T.Y. Buratai - Chief of Army Staff
3. Rear Admiral Ibok-Ete Ekwe Ibas - Chief of Naval Staff
4. Air Vice Marshal Sadique Abubakar - Chief of Air Staff
5. Air Vice Marshal Monday Riku  Morgan - Chief of Defence Intelligence
6. Major-General Babagana Monguno (retired.) - National Security Adviser

The new Chief of Defence Staff, Major-General Olonishakin  who is from Ekiti State was until his appointment as Chief of Defence Staff today the Head of the Nigerian Army Training and Doctrine Command in Minna, Niger State.

The new Chief of Army Staff, Major-General Buratai who is from Borno State was until his new appointment today, the Commander of the Multinational Joint Task Force which has its headquarters in Ndjamena. Major-General Buratai previously served as the Commander of the Nigerian Army's 2nd Brigade in Port Harcourt and Commander of the Nigerian Army School of Infantry in Jaji, Kaduna State.

The new Chief of Naval Staff, Rear Admiral  Ibas is from Cross River State. He joined the Nigerian Defence Academy as  a member of the 26th Regular Course in 1979 and was commissioned as a Sub-Lieutenant in 1983.  His previous appointments include: Naval Provost Marshal, Chief Staff Officer, Naval Training Command, Chief of Administration, Naval Headquarters, Flag Officer Commanding Western Naval Command and Chief of Logistics, Naval Headquarters. He was until his appointment as Chief of Naval Staff, the Chief Executive Officer of Navy Holdings Limited.

The new Chief of Air Staff, Air Vice Marshal Abubakar is from Bauchi State. His previous appointments include: Chief of Standards and Evaluation, NAF Headquarters; Chief of Defence Communications and Air Officer Commanding, NAF Training Command. He was until his new appointment today as Chief of Air Staff,the Chief of Administration, NAF Headquarters.
The new Service Chiefs will hold their appointments in an acting capacity until confirmed by the Senate.

President Buhari thanked the outgoing National Security Adviser  and service Chiefs for their services to the nation and wished them well in their future undertakings.

No comments:

Post a Comment